The Waiting Game

“I can understand nine words in that book now.” –Billy Madison, on reading A Tale of Two Cities, or, how Jaclyn feels reading pathology reports

The last couple weeks have been a sort of purgatory. But not in the morbid way. Like the cheesy 90s movie way, where the character doesn’t know he or she is no longer with the living and thus continues with his or her happy existence. There have been many blissful moments where I forget I’m sick, which feels like the wrong word choice. I’m not sick in any way I’ve ever defined it. I’m not bed ridden. I got clearance to drive this week. I kicked ass at Rock Band last night. And this weather?!? It’s a narcotic for the soul!

But still, a bit of a cloud looms. Three pathology reports and a chromosomal analysis are in my hands. All make me wish I’d paid more attention in biology. From what I (and my ability to Google) gather, two of the three reports agree that it’s endometrial sarcoma. That’s good in cancer world, potentially not so good in ‘I want to be a mommy’ world. But like I told my gynecologist as I pointed to the collage of babies he’s delivered hung on his office walls, “I”m putting a half Asian baby up there if it kills me.”

The chromosome report is filled with little squiggles that look like Rorschach ink blots to me. Fine print indicates that in endometrial sarcoma, chromosome A and chromosome B tend to translocate (switch places). For me, chromosomes X and chromosomes Y translocated. Hmm. This nagging feeling I’d been having increased. I had already told James, “You know, I can’t help but shake this feeling that this isn’t actually what I have.”

Don’t even get me started on my gut feelings. I stopped feeling comfortable driving 2 days before a major accident. I passed out cold the morning of my father’s death, 8 hours before I received the news. And many other examples, but I’ll spare you.

My new doctor, who I’ve yet to meet, called me. I am not officially a patient of his yet and he doesn’t have a dollar from either me or my insurance company. But he (not a nurse, not a receptionist) called me to talk. I love him already. Then he took the words right out of my mouth. “I’m not sure this is what you have just yet.” I jumped in and cut him off. “Is it cause of the chromosome thing?!” He agreed. “Well, yes.” Heart swelled a bit. “I’ve been feeling that, too.” He wants to look at my slides directly.

Oh science, my body is still kicking your ass. Two doctors mentioned that my surgeon, who’s “seen it all,” scrubbed out during my surgery to look at my slides. Apparently in doctor terms that means I stumped him. This is one area in life where you don’t want to be unique. You want studies and thousands of others just like you. You want statistics saying this works and here’s how we know. You don’t want someone with years of experience that exceed your age saying, “Well, huh. Would you look at that?”

If I do turn out to be unique, maybe I can name it. I’ll give it something that is a little awkward, embarrassing, funny, or so happy and sweet it makes your teeth hurt so that you have to giggle or smile when you say what type of cancer you have. That way, I can bestow a bit of humor on any future patients. Any suggestions?

I’ve also decided that everyone should have a theme song. In college, I used to listen to the same song every Monday morning. I’d press play on my iPod, one of the first few generations that would likely be compared to a brick now, the second I stepped out of my door heading to class. It was Tears for Fears’ “Everybody Wants to Rule the World.” As of this second in my life, it’s my theme song. Watch the video. See his ponytail cascading in the wind. Cheer on the men dancing in front of the gas pumps located in the middle of a field. It’s so bad, it’s good. You feel great watching that right now, don’t you? Me too.

3 thoughts on “The Waiting Game

  1. Jaclyn, I’m enjoying your blog. Your voice is clear and inviting. Ironic that this illness has driven you to gathering your thoughts and committing them to paper–well, not quite paper, but maybe better because you can share your thoughts with the world. You have many people sending their love and best wishes your way, including me. So here’s my prescription: enjoy this glorious weather, heal, get better, much much better AND once you do, continue writing. This is a wonderful blog. Thanks.

  2. Your strength, clarity, and humor make me want to try harder on everything I do.

    How’d you get to be such and good writer?

    Thanks for sharing your stories.

    (Miss you.)

  3. Jaquieeqkedmyassoma. Okay, the new name needs some work….that’s where a writer comes in, right?

    I’m so happy to read that as you’re going all ninja-on-oma that you are still relishing nature. What a duality of a pickle you are in: attack ikcy nature of things, swim in joy of nature of things! There’s something upon which Wayne Dyer would comment.

    Take care, and drive slowly… : ) (and keep writing…you’ve touched upon making me feel like a kindred spirit!)

What's on your mind?

